Leave a comment

A New “Thank You”

Hello, folks. Welcome back to the blog after our Thanksgiving weekend! As I spent the weekend stuffing myself with an inordinate amount of carbs and watching White Christmas for (seriously) the 157th time, I reflected a little bit on what your freshmen might be going through right about now. To be quite honest, I envy them, but not enough to trade places with them.

This time in the semester is a crash course in emotional and academic balance for students—and some deeply fear they might crash and burn. They’re struggling to maintain friendships from high school and relationships with their families at home, while also trying to build and understand new, adult relationships for the first time. Students often feel torn in many directions, and emotions always run high.

So why do I envy them? I don’t think I ever really understood Thanksgiving until I started coming home from college to celebrate it. When I came home that first fall, I was, of course, excited to see my family, stuff my face, and catch up on sleep and homework. But it was the first time in my life I truly reveled in the pleasures of home and family. I cherished details I had previously dismissed as ridiculous quirks: I helped my mother wrap fake presents for her Christmas porch display; I attended—and cheered at—my brother’s high school basketball games (I am not a sports fan); I watched the Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer claymation movie with young cousins (and managed to cut back on the huffiness and eye-rolling). For the first time ever, I had a mature understanding of gratitude for my family. I hope all your Knights, whether they vocalized it or not, had some chance this past weekend to reflect on how their perception of thankfulness is changing, along with the rest of their lives.

Thankfully, I don’t have to repeat my college years in order to keep this gratitude growing. All I have to do is stay away from home. Don’t get me wrong here, I adore my family (Mom and I are keeping Verizon in business with our astronomical usage of cell phone minutes), but that old adage “Absence makes the heart grow fonder” is especially apt at colleges around holiday time. And the longer I’m away, the happier I am to be back.

So tell me, what were you and your BU student thankful for this weekend?

Stay tuned for upcoming blogs on fear of failure, slow parenting, and tactics for surviving finals week.

Also, if you haven’t checked out the lastest freshmen parent newsletter yet, (or are the parent of an upperclassmen and didn’t receive the freshman parents’ newsletter), I have inlcuded our latest video, “Finals Week Survival Kit”–click here to watch the video.

 

Jessica Hume, BU c/o 2005
Director or Writing and Parent Communications, ARC

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

