Leave a comment

Spring Fever!

BU parents,

      I was heartened this week by the receipt of several emails from you via the parents @bellarmine.edu website. It’s great to hear from you; your involvement with the Bellarmine community is encouraging for Patrick and I, but (more importantly) key to your student’s success.

As I’m sure you noticed, it’s beautiful outside (in most places), and everyone has dusted off their packages of Claritin and Tylenol Allergy (OK, maybe that’s just me…dang this Ohio Valley pollen count!). This is my favorite time of year at BU. Students–friends, couples, study groups, classes–sprawl out all over the quad, basking in the sunshine, looking through chic sunglasses at each other’s laptops, or tilting their heads over their (massive) books. Everyone is cheerful about the upcoming summer break, the glorious weather, and the Derby Festival. Quite frankly, BU in the springtime is just really nice.

But students should be forewarned! The sunshine, beautiful weather, and Derby festivities can often tempt them away from their studies. Heck, I used to spend the Saturday before finals down at Waterfront Park waiting for Thunder Over Lousiville. I can testify that it’s NOT EFFECTIVE to study Greek vocab or read Rousseau’s Reveries of a Solitary Walker surrounded by ten thousand people.

Now, I am not one to be a buzzkill. Like I said, one of the highlights of my time at BU has been seeing students enjoy themselves and have fun. But they shouldn’t do it at the expense of their final grades. I was speaking with a student a couple weeks ago about planning for finals, and she said to me, “I gotta be honest, I probably won’t study much. It’ll be too pretty out.” I was glad she was honest, but I told her flat out that that wouldn’t cut it. If she needed to be outside, she should STUDY on the quad, not talk on her cell on the quad.

My brother is a runner. I go to all his races. My job is to stand about 1/8th of a mile before the finish and, when he passes, scream really loud, “Go Aaron! Run faster! You can do it!’  (I have a  big orange sign, too). Long story short, this is your job right now, Parents. Students are almost at the finish, and they are tempted to slow down and get distracted. Spur them on. Make sure they finish strong.

Jessica Hume,  BU c/o 2005
Director of Writing and Parent Communications

PS–Opportunity for your students to apply for the Presidential Achievement Scholarship has almost run out! Click here for details!

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

