Leave a comment

SOAR 2: Mission Complete

Hey BU parents! I have to tell you, the wonders of the good ole interweb make me a pretty powerful blogger, indeed. For instance, I can tell just by the amount of new clicks on the blog today that a bunch of you new readers are parents from SOAR today. That’s great!

We’re halfway through with SOARs (there are four each spring, and you guys were number 2), so after the info fair was over, I toted all my ARC and parent programs doo-dads back to the office (Library A30, in case I didn’t mention it) and did a little mental evaluation of the day.  I have to say, I felt pretty good about it.

At first, I was concerned that the dismal weather and the general “Monday-ness” of things would create a subdued atmosphere. Clearly, I thought wrong. I heard (and was involved in) some great conversations and insights today.

I think today’s overarching theme  ended up being proactivity, but the more I think about it, the more I think we need to call it “pre-activity.” Rather than focusing on taking initiative (which is tremendously important in it’s own right), we should focus on preparing students to take advantage of resources around them. Our Knights will stumble, and struggle, and have moments of sheer panic. It’s inevitable. But we want to arm you with good information so you can now prepare, with your student, to begin the final stage of his or her growing up.

Just because your student is in college now doesn’t mean you can’t still be his or her primary support network. In fact, in many ways, you will be a support network now more than ever. The difference is that, as your student truly stops seeing you reductively as “Mom” or “Dad,” but as a model of responsible, resourceful adulthood, he or she will look to you less frequently for rescuing and protection and more frequently for leadership.

The best thing Patrick and I can do for you is provide information, action, and opportunity, and we’re thrilled to do that. As the year goes on, please let us know how you’d like to see those things appear in our interactions.

I’ll sign off now, but let me say again, with all sincerity, Welcome to Bellarmine.

Jessica Hume, BU c/o 2005
Director of Writing and Parent Communications

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

