Leave a comment

The First Day!

Hello again, BU Parents!

    Well, our first day of school was yesterday, and I have to tell you, it rocked.

My positive vibes about the first day of school actually began the evening prior, as I sat in my office after hours, pecking away at my computer. I kept hearing an unusual amount of activity out in the hallway, and went to investigate. What I found was heartwarming and exciting: new freshmen, in small packs, walking around campus looking for their classrooms so they wouldn’t get lost on the first day. Wow! What a good sign for the class of 2014.

We (the ARC and Commuter Services) had a terrific plan for morning of the first day of school: greet commuter students in the lot and pick them up on golf carts so they don’t have a long walk on  their first day. And that’s exactly what we did. And I’ll admit, it was tough getting here even earlier on the first day, but there’s something very zen about finishing morning coffee while zooming around on a golf cart on a welcome mission. The best part though, was the zippy little rides in which we got to talk with the freshmen a little about about their majors, their classes, and their lives.

All day long, campus was atwitter with new students, new ambitions, and new relationships in the making.  But the cherry on the Sunday, for me anyway, was finally meeting my new English class in the afternoon. I teach Expository Writing, so it was all freshmen, but they seem like a great bunch–students who’ve lived abroad, play the ukelele or the clarinet, can walk on their hands–and they were really pumped about their BU experiences.

All in all, parents, the second day is bright and sunny, and dozens of students are roaming the quad, greeting each other, talking about classes (I did see one guy sleeping on a bench–he must’ve had a long first day) and just generally making a good day of it.

I feel good about 2010-11 parents, and you should too!

Jessica Hume, c/o 2005
Director of Writing and Parent Communications, ARC

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

