Leave a comment

VICTORY!!! And Fall Registration

First, let me be honest in admitting that I am a fair-weather fan. I am not generally inclined to follow sports, but I sometimes get into certain teams (the Cincinnati Reds are always lingering somewhere in the back of my mind).

I have attended BU basketball games (men’s and women’s) and always enjoyed myself, not only for the athleticism and dedication of our athletes but–and this is even more important–the students on he sidelines. I have seen them paint their faces (and torsos, and arms…), dress in ridiculous costumes, ride on stick horses, and scream themselves hoarse at games. I saw some of them wait seventeen (YES, seventeen) hours (that video is here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GwihuS5mBTE)  to get on the first bus to Massachusetts last week to watch the men’s basketball team compete in DII championships, and everything I saw after that first bus left  reminded me of why I loved BU as a student and continue to work here.

Fans came our of the woodwork to sit at crowded viewing parties and scream like crazy; alums took off work to go to Springfield, campus was abuzz with enthusiasm, and (this was the best) when I wore my proud scarlet to the Papa John’s ten-Miler Race Saturday morning, and then later to a restaurant, dozens of people I didn’t know walked by and shouted, “Go Knights!” And (CORNBALL ALERT!) there seemed to an unspoken sense that at this moment BU was a truly special school to be a part of.

Coach Davenport is right–it is about trust, no just in b-ball, but everything we do. As students, we all struggle, it’s the nature of the beast, and not everything goes our way; at BU, I–and, doubtless, thousands other other alums–always trusted that this was a good place for us to be, and we trusted our professors and advisors for their devotion to us, we trusted each other, in our own circles and the larger community, and not all students have that luxury at other schools (I wish for their sake’s that they did). Trust is what makes BU special on and off the court.

On that note, fall registration is coming up so students should talk to those trusted advisors (in their department  about their plans. They should remember to come in with some course choices planned out, and be flexible and ready to talk about changes or alternative options if necessary. Further advice as available in this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qnuD4rrzY0

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

