Leave a comment

Demystifying a BU tradition

Note: For 2013, the Matriculation Book Signing will be held on Aug. 18 at the Welcome Picnic in the Quad from 4:30-6:30 p.m.

A parent of an incoming freshman recently emailed me and wrote (I’ll paraphrase): “I will be attending the Parent Orientation events, but I’m not sure I understand what the Matriculation book signing is. Could you tell me more?” Since others might have this same question, I’m sharing my response.

The Matriculation book signing is part of the traditional Bellarmine welcome events for first-year students and families. All freshmen are invited to sign the “Matriculation Book.” This symbolically  acknowledges their commitment to Bellarmine. Parents are invited to join their students in going to sign the book and meeting Bellarmine’s president, Dr. McGowan. Later that day, the Convocation ceremony (I think of this as the sort-of reverse of a graduation ceremony), officially recognizes the first-year students as a class and welcome them to the Bellarmine community.

Image

Veteran parents: What activity from Bellarmine move-in, orientation, and check-in stands out most in your memory?

New parents: What other questions like this can I (or other parents) help you with? Comment on the blog (or facebook) or send an email to parents@bellarmine.edu.

Image

About Cassie

I'm the Director of the Writing Center and Director of Parent Communications at Bellarmine University.

Leave a Reply

